Panier Escadrille Paris

Each year, we work with a number of influencers, who are our brand ambassadors. We first came across Anaïk Lefebvre, a designer of limited-edition women’s clothing, via her Instagram account @unesourisdansmondressing in 2018. We were only just starting out at Escadrille, but Anaïk had faith in us. She has an eye for the latest trends and new designers and we were lucky enough to be featured in her selection.

It’s now 2021 and we’re delighted that our partnership is still alive today. At Escadrille, we love her looks, humor and most of all her authenticity. So we wanted to dive a bit deeper and learn more about her career and her life as an influencer and designer.

READ THE INTERVIEW BELOW!

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN ON SOCIAL MEDIA?

Nearly nine years. In 2012, a friend of mine told me that I needed more than just a blog for my brand communications and that I should reinvent myself.

HOW DID YOU START OUT? YOUR BLOG, DEVELOPING YOUR WEBSITE, ETC.?

I created my blog in 2009 after another friend told me what a shame it was that I hid my light under a bushel. At the time I was on parental leave and was feeling quite isolated. I needed some kind of social recognition, so it came along at just the right time. My blog was what helped me realize that I love to write!

Spurred on by positive feedback on my designs, I launched my online store the next year. It started out really small as I wanted to do things slowly, step by step. I was so terrified of taking a leap into the unknown.

WHEN DID YOU MAKE THE MOVE TO INSTAGRAM? 

For a few years after creating my Instagram, I carried on posting some more “substantial” articles on my blog. But I gradually stopped wanting to do that as at the time Instagram was a more intuitive and sociable tool. I liked the proximity it gave me compared to my blog and I thought it was less time-consuming – although that’s no longer the case.

DO YOU HAVE ANY SOCIAL MEDIA TIPS FOR US? 

Take your time and pace yourself. Stay genuine and authentic, but try to look after yourself. It’s sometimes a tricky balance to strike.

DOES INSTAGRAM NOT EAT INTO YOUR DESIGNING AND COUTURE WORK? 

Instagram is an incredibly time-consuming tool. I’m actually looking for solutions to optimize the time I spend on it so I can have more time for designing and for my family, who don’t always appreciate how busy I am with my other commitments.

I love sharing, writing and talking with others and I am so lucky to have a really kind and friendly community that means so much to me as a person. Unfortunately, it just eats into my everyday life, I have to learn to set boundaries.

DO YOU HANDLE EVERYTHING YOURSELF? 

I handle all aspects of my business myself: from sourcing the fabrics, to pattern making, to creating several prototypes and commercializing the models. Not to mention all the logistics (preparing and sending orders), managing exchanges and returns, updating my online store (creating product pages and writing articles to present new pieces), the accounting and of course all the communications (newsletters, Instagram posts, most of the photos, etc.)

I only subcontract the small-scale production and recently I’ve been working with the workshop’s pattern-maker, who has been helping me with making patterns from my ideas.

SO YOU HAVE MANAGED TO COMBINE YOUR TWO PASSIONS: COUTURE AND COMMUNICATION? 

Before I started out, I thought they were two completely separate worlds. I only ever saw couture as a hobby and never as a potential career!

WHAT IS YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH FASHION? 

My relationship with fashion is currently changing, I can see that I’m consuming far less fast fashion. I’m still curious about the latest trends, but I’ve stopped rushing in headlong without asking myself if I actually like it.

IS IT SOMETHING THAT YOU HAVE ALWAYS LOVED? 

Before I started my blog, I wasn’t really interested in fashion. I had so much on my plate with three young children and the never-ending works on our house that fashion honestly wasn’t a priority for me. If I had to choose between buying a sweater or a pot of paint, it was an easy decision.

WHAT IS THE KEY PIECE IN YOUR CLOSET? 

A great blazer. I’ve actually got quite a few of them and they’re not necessarily very expensive pieces. I try to pay attention to the material and choose plain colors so they are easy to wear with anything. When I slip on a blazer, I feel more powerful. It’s my suit of armor!

HOW DO YOU CHOOSE THE BRANDS THAT YOU WORK FOR?

First of all, I need to feel a real affinity with the products, that they speak to me in some way. They also need to be consistent with what I share on social media, my community must feel that I’ve made a sincere choice.

Then I need there to be mutual trust between me and the brand, and, if possible, to be in direct contact with the designer.

Lastly, I want to be able to keep my own tone and use my discretion when speaking about a brand or product.

I can’t deal with being given strict instructions with all kinds of tags and hashtags to add.

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT FASHION AND THE ENVIRONMENT? DO YOU HAVE ANY TIPS? 

My generation grew up with industrialization, so thinking about the environment doesn’t come naturally to me. My children have made me more aware of it, I’m learning through them. So Faustine, my 18-year-old, will always take me to task if she sees me being tempted by fast fashion.

Even so, I think that you shouldn’t be too radical with your choices. No one is beyond reproach and every little helps.

WHAT IS YOUR WORK-LIFE BALANCE LIKE?

Complicated! As I work from home (in a small outbuilding in my garden), I soon started to go back to the “office” late in the evening or the weekend, and I often answer questions on Instagram every day of the week. But there’s one thing in particular that I’m proud of: for the last few months, I’ve been turning my phone off at 9pm every day – it’s amazing!

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT ESCADRILLE?

Escadrille is an inspiring, small-scale venture so of course I admire it. I’ve also loved building a relationship with its designer and strengthening our ties over time. And of course I love the products too, which go so well with mine. You can’t have a blouse or a dress without a pretty pair of sandals! As my feet tend to complain a lot, comfort is also very important to me. Escadrille offers the best of both worlds: beautiful, modern designs (that I wear year after year) that are comfortable.

LAST BUT NOT LEAST, DO YOU HAVE A PARTICULAR MANTRA OR BELIEF THAT DEFINES YOU?

Don’t dwell on failures, you always learn from your mistakes (even if it hurts at the time).

Thank you for letting us interview you, Anaïk!

Panier Escadrille Paris

Chaque année, nous travaillons avec des influenceuses, ambassadrices de notre marque. En 2018 nous avons eu la chance de découvrir Anaïk Lefebvre, créatrice de vêtements pour femme en série limitée sur le compte Instagram @une sourisdansmondressing. C’était pour nous le tout début de notre aventure Escadrille et Anaïk nous a fait confiance. Elle a l’oeil pour dénicher les tendances et les nouveaux créateurs et nous avons eu la chance de faire partie de sa sélection.

Nous sommes en 2021 et nous continuons avec joie notre partenariat. Chez Escadrille, on aime ses looks, son humour et surtout son authenticité. Alors nous avons décider d’aller un plus loin en lui posant quelques questions sur son parcours, sa vie d’influenceuse et de créatrice.

Découvrez l’interview ci-dessous !

Depuis combien de temps est-ce que tu es sur les réseaux ?

Presque 9 ans, en 2012 poussée par une amie qui trouvait que mon blog n’était plus un support de communication suffisant, je devais me renouveler.

Comment est-ce que ton aventure a commencé ? ton blog, le développement de ton site etc…

J’ai crée mon blog en 2009, poussée par une autre amie qui trouvait dommage que je bricole dans mon coin. A cette époque en congé parental, je souffrais un peu d’isolement et j’avais besoin d’une forme de reconnaissance sociale, ça tombait à pic. A travers ce blog, j’ai réalisé que j’adorais écrire !

Motivée par des retours positifs sur les créations que je présentais, mon e-shop a vu le jour l’année suivante, c’était un tout petit truc au début, je préférais y aller tranquillement par étapes, ce plongeon dans l’inconnu me faisait terriblement peur.

A quel moment tu as basculé sur Instagram ? 

Les quelques années qui ont suivi ma présence sur Instagram, je continuais de poster des articles plus « consistants » sur mon blog mais peu à peu, j’en avais moins envie, Instagram était alors un outil plus intuitif et plus convivial, je préférais la proximité qu’il offrait par rapport au blog et je le trouvais alors moins chronophage, ça n’a pas duré.

Est-ce que tu as des conseils à nous donner sur les réseaux sociaux ? 

Prendre son temps, ne pas vouloir aller trop vite, rester sincère et authentique tout en essayant de se préserver, un dosage parfois difficile à trouver.

Est-ce qu’Instagram ne prend pas trop de temps sur ton activité de couture et de création ? 

Instagram est un outil excessivement chronophage, je cherche justement des solutions pour mieux rationaliser le temps que j’y consacre afin d’accorder plus d’espace à la création, mais aussi à ma famille qui ne vit pas toujours très bien mon indisponibilité à leur égard.

J’adore partager, écrire et échanger et j’ai la chance d’avoir une communauté hyper sympa et bienveillante qui m’apporte humainement beaucoup, malheureusement cela prend trop de place dans ma vie quotidienne. Je dois apprendre à me fixer des limites.

Est-ce que tu es seule à tout gérer ? 

Je gère l’ensemble de mon activité seule : du sourcing des tissus au patronage en passant par la réalisation de plusieurs prototypes jusqu’à la commercialisation des modèles, sans oublier la logistique (préparation et envoi des commandes) puis la gestion des échanges et retours, la mise à jour de mon site marchand (création des fiches produits, rédaction d’articles pour présenter les nouveautés), la comptabilité et bien sûr toute la partie communication (newsletters, posts Instagram, la plupart des photos…)

Je sous-traite uniquement la confection en petites séries et depuis peu je travaille en collaboration avec la modéliste de l’atelier, elle m’aide sur le patronage à partir de mes idées.

Finalement tu as réussi à allier deux passions : couture et communication ? 

Avant de me lancer, je pensais que ces deux univers n’étaient pas faits pour se rejoindre. Je voyais la couture uniquement comme un loisir et absolument pas comme une possible aventure pro !

Quel est ton rapport avec la mode ? 

Mon rapport avec la mode est en train de changer, je vois bien que ma consommation de fast-fashion a considérablement diminué. Je reste curieuse des tendances mais ne m’y précipite plus tête baissée sans me demander d’abord si elle me plait réellement.

Est-ce quelque chose que tu aimes depuis toujours ? 

Avant d’ouvrir mon blog, je ne m’intéressais pas beaucoup à la mode, le nez dans le guidon avec 3 enfants en bas âge et des travaux interminables dans notre maison, la mode n’était pas franchement une priorité, entre l’achat d’un pull ou d’un pot des peinture, le choix était vite fait.

Quelle est la pièce phare de ton dressing ? 

Un beau blazer, à vrai dire j’en ai quelques uns, pas forcément des pièces très onéreuses, j’essaie de faire attention à la matière et je privilégie les unis pour les porter facilement avec tout ; Quand j’enfile un blazer, je me sens plus forte, c’est mon armure !

Comment est-ce que tu sélectionnes les marques pour lesquelles tu travailles ?

D’abord il faut que j’aie une réelle affinité avec les produits, qu’ils me correspondent en quelque sorte. Ils doivent aussi être en cohérence avec ce que je partage sur les réseaux sociaux, ma communauté doit sentir que mon choix est sincère.

Ensuite, j’ai besoin d’un rapport de confiance mutuel avec la marque et si possible un contact direct avec le créateur ou la créatrice.

Enfin, je tiens à garder le ton qui m’est propre et mon libre-arbitre pour parler d’une marque ou d’un produit.

Si je reçois des consignes strictes avec toutes sortes de tags et hashtags à ajouter, ça ne marche pas.

Mode et écologie : quand penses-tu ? as-tu un petit conseil ? 

Je fais partie de la génération qui a connu l’industrialisation, l’écologie n’est pas innée pour moi, mes enfants m’y sensibilisent beaucoup, j’apprends à leur contact. Faustine, 18 ans, ne manque pas de me rappeler à l’ordre si elle me voit tentée par la fast-fashion par exemple.

Malgré tout, je pense qu’il ne faut pas être trop radical dans ses choix, personne n’est irréprochable et chaque petit pas compte

Ton équilibre de vie : vie de famille, vie professionnelle ?

Compliqué ! Mon bureau étant chez moi (un petit bâtiment dans le jardin), j’ai vite fait d’y retourner tard le soir ou le week-end et bien souvent je réponds à des questions sur Instagram 7j/7. Mais j’ai quand même une petite fierté : depuis quelques mois, je coupe mon téléphone à 21 h, folie !

Pourrais-tu nous dire un petit mot sur Escadrille ?

Escadrille, c’est une belle aventure à taille  humaine donc évidemment j’y suis sensible. J’aime également nouer des liens et les renforcer au fil du temps avec sa créatrice. Et bien sûr les produits, complémentaires des miens, une blouse ou une robe sans une jolie paire de sandales, impossible ! Ayant des pieds capricieux, le confort a aussi toute son importance. Escadrille allie les 2, des jolis modèles dans l’air du temps (que je garde d’une année sur l’autre) et confortables.

Et pour finir  as-tu un « Mantra » qui te suit ou une conviction qui te définit ?

Ne jamais rester sur un échec, on apprend toujours de ses erreurs (même si ça fait bien mal sur le coup)

Merci beaucoup Anaik pour cette interview !